TF1, the French commercial broadcaster, has acquired rights to the 2025 UEFA Women’s European Championship national team soccer tournament.

Under an exclusive deal, TF1 will provide domestic coverage of all 31 games from the competition.

The agreement was struck with CAA Eleven, UEFA’s commercial rights agency for national team competitions.

Rival free-to-air broadcasters France Televisions and M6 also submitted bids by the September 19 tender deadline set by CAA Eleven but didn’t meet UEFA’s asking price of around €20 million ($21.5 million).

TF1, France Televisions, and M6 initially made bids of between €10 million and €15 million before TF1 increased its offer closer to the figure UEFA was seeking.

François Pellissier, deputy chief executive of sports and business at TF1, said: “We are very happy to offer women's competitions wide exposure and to allow them to be followed by as many people as possible.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

“The acquisition of this major sporting event in 2025 once again demonstrates the TF1 Group's ambition to offer the biggest events free of charge to all French people.”

The 2025 Women’s Euro will be held in Switzerland after the country was awarded hosting rights earlier this year ahead of France, Poland, and a joint Nordic bid.