FIFA, global soccer's governing body, has confirmed that the inaugural Women’s Club World Cup (CWC) will be held across January and February in 2026.

The Women’s CWC will involve 16 teams and be held every four years. FIFA initially unveiled plans to create a women’s version of the Club World Cup in December 2022.

The host nation of the first edition has yet to be unveiled.

The tournament will follow the first edition of the expanded men’s Club World Cup – set to contain 32 sides and also be held quadrennially – in 2025 in the US.

The 37-member FIFA Council rubber-stamped the move at a meeting in Bangkok, Thailand, yesterday (May 15).

The competition will take place in the middle of the domestic season in European women’s soccer – but will be staged in advance of the US’ National Women’s Soccer League, which gets underway in March.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

The Women’s CWC announcement came as part of an overall international match calendar between 2026 and 2029 being unveiled by FIFA.

The number of specific international match windows per year has been reduced from six to five.

In addition, it has been confirmed that in the years when a Women’s CWC does not take place, there will be another, smaller, FIFA tournament.

Gianni Infantino, FIFA president, said: “The women’s international match calendar and the subsequent amendments to our regulations represent an important milestone in our pledge to take the women’s game to the next level by enhancing competitiveness across the world, particularly in those regions women’s football is less developed and protecting the well-being of players.”

The first edition of the 32-team men’s CWC will be held in the US, between June 15 and July 13 next year.

The tournament will include 12 teams from Europe, six from South America, one from Oceania, four each from Asia, Africa, North and Central America, and the Caribbean, and one from the US as the host country. The competition’s official name will be Mundial de Clubes FIFA.

In late April, it was reported that FIFA was close to striking a worldwide media rights deal with technology and content giant Apple over tournament media rights.