YuppTV, the over-the-top streaming platform for South Asian content, has renewed its streaming rights to the Indian Premier League (IPL), the prestigious domestic Twenty20 cricket competition, in 99 countries.

The deal for the 2022 edition, which got underway over the weekend (March 26) and runs until May 29, covers continental Europe, Central and South America, Southeast Asia (with the exception of Singapore), Central Asia, and specific countries such as Australia, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Japan, Bhutan, and the Maldives.

The service will show all 74 IPL matches this season.

YuppTV also streamed the 2020 and 2021 editions of the competition.

Domestic rights in India are presently held exclusively by Star India for the 2017-22 cycle in a deal worth $2.55 billion overall.

This year’s IPL features an expanded 10 teams, with matches to be held in Mumbai and Pune.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

Uday Reddy, YuppTV founder and chief executive, said: “Cricket has always been a massive crowd-puller and IPL has reimagined the format and the excitement associated with it. In alignment with the objective of bringing cricket to the masses, we are delighted to be the streaming platform of choice in expanding the outreach to 99 nations across the globe.

“We are ensuring that our backend technology will support uninterrupted, real-time streaming of the sport that put India on the world map with respect to international leagues.”

Harry Griffith, head of acquisition and syndication- sports, Disney Star, added: “We’re happy to be continuing our long-standing association with YuppTV who continue to serve the global Indian diaspora with world-class content. The Tata IPL 2022 promises to be the largest and most exciting edition since its inception.”

The winning bid for the much-coveted broadcast rights to the 2023-27 IPL cycle is expected to be announced by the end of this month, in advance of the 2022 season starting.

In February, it was reported that Amazon, Disney, Sony, and Reliance were in the hunt to secure domestic rights across the next five-year cycle.

Meanwhile, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has unveiled Swiggy Instamart, the quick commerce grocery service, as an official partner for this season’s IPL.

The Indian brand becomes the competition’s sixth official partner alongside Dream11, Unacademy, Cred, Upstox, and RuPay.

Swiggy has had an association with cricket in the country since 2018.

In other developments, the BCCI is planning to start the women's IPL by 2023, the body’s president Sourav Ganguly said on Friday (March 25).

The organization is proposing a six-team competition for the inaugural edition.

The existing 10 men's IPL franchises will be given the first right of refusal to buy the women's teams. Outside parties will be invited to bid for the franchises if any of the options are not taken up.

Following the IPL governing council meeting in Mumbai, Ganguly said: "[The fully-fledged women's IPL] has to be approved by the AGM. We plan to start it by next year hopefully."

It was also announced that the Women's T20 Challenge will make a return this season after a one-year hiatus.

The tournament, comprising three teams and four games, will be played this year during the IPL.