Professional Bull Riders (PBR), the bull riding circuit owned by Endeavor, has announced details of a new team format series that it will launch in June.

The PBR Team Series is intended to take advantage of what the organization says is the growing popularity of team formatted bull-riding events.

It will launch with eight founding teams, each of which will host an annual bull riding event and accompanying festival in their respective cities.

The season will also include two ‘neutral site’ events, as well as playoff and championship elements.

The inaugural season will culminate in a team playoff at the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas running from November 4 to 6, 2022.

A rider draft will be held on May 23.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

PBR says the Team Series is intended to complement its Unleash The Beast premier tour.

All events will be shown by the US broadcaster CBS on its Sports Network, on its Paramount+ streaming platform, or on its Pluto TV streaming platform.

The eight founding teams are as follows:

  • Ariat Texas Rattlers, based in Fort Worth, Tex., owned by the Fisher family
  • Arizona Ridge Riders, based in Glendale, Ariz., owned by Teton Ridge
  • Austin Gamblers, based in Austin, Tex., owned by Egon Durban
  • Carolina Chaos, based in Winston-Salem, N.C., owned by the league and operated by Richard Childress Racing
  • Kansas City Outlaws, based in Kansas City, Mo., owned by Pulley Outlaws
  • Missouri Thunder, based in Ridgedale, Mo., owned by Johnny Morris
  • Nashville Stampede, based in Nashville, Tenn., owned by Morris Communications Company
  • Oklahoma Freedom, based in Oklahoma City, Okla., owned by the league and operated by Prodigal

Sean Gleason, chief executive and commissioner of PBR, said: “Over the past 29 years, PBR has grown to become a mainstream sport carried by CBS and Pluto TV and packing marquee arenas across the country.

"The incredible lineup of passionate, highly successful team owners validates the new PBR Team Series league – a transformational addition to the sport that will help take PBR to new levels.”

In September, PBR announced that it will move its World Finals – regarded as bull riding’s most prestigious event – to Fort Worth after 30 years in Las Vegas.