FIBA, the international basketball federation, has announced that the Women’s EuroBasket in 2025 will be hosted by four countries for the first time.

The continental national teams' tournament will be staged in the Czech Republic, Germany, Greece, and Italy after they were approved as the four hosts by the FIBA Europe Executive Committee yesterday (September 7).

Each country will host a part of the group phase – with the exact locations to be confirmed at a later date – before the final phase is held solely in Athens, Greece.

Italy (1938, 1968, 1974, 1981, 1985, 1993, and 2007) the Czech Republic (1956, 1995, and 2017), and Greece (2003) have previously staged the tournament as sole hosts but this will be Germany's first time staging the women's edition. 

The 40th edition of the FIBA Women's EuroBasket will be the fifth in the competition’s history to follow the co-hosting formula that was first approved for 2015.

Romania and Hungary were the first-ever joint hosts of the tournament in that year, with Serbia and Latvia doing so in 2019 after the 2017 event was awarded to the Czech Republic as the sole host.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

Spain and France co-hosted the event in 2021, while the most recent tournament was held in Slovenia and Israel this year.

A total of 36 nations including the four co-hosts will compete in the FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2025 qualifiers, however, the four co-hosts will be placed in the same group in a modification to the competition system.

The remaining 32 teams will be drawn into eight groups of four teams and will compete for the last 12 spots at the final round.

The men’s EuroBasket in 2025 will also be held in four countries after Latvia, Cyprus, Finland, and Poland were named as co-hosts last year.