The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced that Dallas, Florida, and New York in the US will stage matches during next year’s Men’s T20 World Cup.

The US is set to host the tournament for the first time alongside the West Indies from June 4 to 30 in what will be the biggest World Cup in ICC history, with 20 teams competing.  

Grand Prairie in Dallas, Broward County in Florida, and Nassau County in New York have been earmarked as host venues.

Nassau County matches will be played at a 34,000-seat modular stadium to be built in Eisenhower Park, while the games in Grand Prairie and Broward County will be staged in existing venues, which will be expanded.

Work on the modular stadium will take two to three months and will commence in late January 2024.

ICC chief executive Geoff Allardice said: “The US is a strategically important market and these venues give us an excellent opportunity to make a statement in the world's biggest sports market.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

“We are very excited about the opportunity to use modular stadium technology to present world-class cricket in a location that has not previously hosted an ICC global event giving USA cricket fans the chance to watch the world’s best on their doorstep.

“This technology has been used at previous ICC events to increase venue capacity and it’s routinely used in other major sports around the world. In the US, it will give us the opportunity to increase the size of the venues in both Dallas and Florida and create what is going to be a stunning venue in New York.”

The US, which has not qualified for a major ICC tournament since 2004, have been granted automatic qualification as hosts, alongside the West Indies team.

The 2024 T20 World Cup will be the first of eight men’s global events in the ICC’s next commercial cycle from 2024-31, which was finalized in 2021.

The decision to award hosting rights to the US was part of a strategic move by the ICC to expand into the lucrative territory and further its ambition to have cricket added to the 2028 Los Angeles Olympic Games program.

The format for the 2024 World Cup will differ from the last two editions in 2020-21 (UAE) and 2022 (Australia), which featured a first round before progressing to a Super 12.

The new format will see the 20 teams divided into four groups of five for the first round, with the top two teams from each group progressing to the Super Eights.

The Super Eight teams will be split into two groups of four, with the top two in each group reaching the semi-finals.