Aleksander Čeferin will be re-elected as president of UEFA for a third term after European soccer’s governing body announced he will stand unopposed.

The 54-year-old Slovenian will serve another four-year term as the sole candidate in the running and will be re-elected at the 47th UEFA Ordinary Congress on April 5 in Lisbon, Portugal.

Čeferin announced he would be running at the UEFA member associations meeting in Germany in October.

The UEFA president first took office in September 2016, beating Michael van Praag from the Netherlands to secure the election.

He was then re-elected by acclamation in February 2019 at the 43rd UEFA congress in Rome.

During the last few years, Čeferin and UEFA have dealt with the economic effects of the coronavirus pandemic and the failed attempt from 12 top-tier clubs around the continent to form a so-called European Super League.

He has also overseen the expansion (right at the start of his time in charge) of the European Championship premier men’s national teams tournament from 16 to 24 teams, while it was confirmed last year that the UEFA Champions League top-tier clubs competition will undergo a significant expansion in the 2024-25 campaign.

In addition, UEFA also received several candidatures for the European members of the FIFA Council.

Hungary’s Sándor Csányi and Finland’s Ari Lahti are the candidates for one FIFA vice president position for a four-year term. Csányi currently holds the position and is standing for re-election.

The candidates for the FIFA vice president position reserved for the four British associations (England, Scotland, Northern Ireland, and Wales) for a four-year term are England’s Debbie Hewitt and Northern Ireland’s David Martin.

Fernando Gomes of Portugal and France’s Noël Le Graët (standing for re-election) are the two candidates for one ordinary member position on the FIFA Council for a four-year term. Germany’s Bernd Neuendorf is the sole candidate for the same position for a two-year term.

Meanwhile, the deadline for the submission of candidatures for seats on the UEFA Executive Committee (eight members to be elected for four-year terms and one member to be elected for a two-year term at the UEFA Congress in Lisbon) is February 5.

Image: Catherine Ivill/Getty Images