The UCI, cycling’s world governing body, is set to re-elect president David Lappartient for a second four-year term at its congress in Belgium in September.

Lappartient, who was first elected to the presidency in September 2017 after beating previous incumbent Brian Cookson in an open contest, is set to be returned unopposed after the UCI announced today that no other candidates had put their name forward by the deadline of 23 June.

The election takes place in Leuven on 24 September, and, as Lapparient is the only contender, there will be no need for a formal vote.

Over the last 18 months, Lappartient has had to deal with not only the coronavirus pandemic, which heavily disrupted the calendars in both 2020 and 2021, but also the emergence of the Riders Union, a new breakaway men's professional riders body launched last November to try and increase the influence cyclists in discussions with the UCI.

Lappartient, who is standing to remain president of the UCI until 2025, was president of the French Cycling Federation from 2009 to 2017. 

There will also be 11 members of the UCI's governing steering committee elected at the congress in Leuven – one each from the continental confederations of Africa, America, Asia and Oceania, and the remaining seven from Europe. 

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

The list of candidates for those 11 positions is as follows: 

Africa: Mohammed Belmahi and Lucas Georges.

North and South America: Cyril Hollis Mangal; Sonia Ramos Acuna; Bob Stapleton; and José Luiz Vasconcellos.

Asia: Khaled Al Khalifa; Amarjit Darshan Singh; Mohsen Solgi; and Sun Weimin.

Oceania: Seti Afoa and Anne Gripper.

Europe: Michel Callot; Rocco Cattaneo; Daniela Isetti; Henrik Jess Jensen; Toni Kirsch; Agata Lang; José Lopez Cerron; Igor Makarov; and Petr Marek.
The candidates were nominated by their respective continental confederations.