The International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) has named Germany as the host nation for the 2027 edition of its flagship World Championship.

Germany was awarded hosting rights ahead of Kazakhstan after securing 102 votes in its favor.

The decision was made at the latest IIHF annual congress, which was held ahead of the conclusion of this year’s tournament.

The 2023 IIHF World Championship, in which Canada defeated Germany in the final on Sunday (May 28), was staged in Finland and Latvia.

Germany will host the 2027 competition exactly 10 years after staging the last IIHF World Championship, which it hosted with France in 2017.

The PSD Bank Dome in Dusseldorf and the SAP Arena in Mannheim have been chosen as the official venues.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

Peter Merten, president of the German Ice Hockey Federation (DEB), said: "This is a milestone for the DEB. We are beyond happy about the trust and the choice of the IIHF delegates.

“The carefully jointly developed concept has been fully convincing. We are looking forward to hosting this major international event in the heart of Europe in May 2027."

The next three editions of the annual IIHF World Championship will be held in the Czech Republic (2024), Sweden and Denmark (2025), and Switzerland (2026). 

Image: Alex Grimm/Getty Images