Premier Sports, the Viaplay-owned Irish pay-TV operator, has acquired domestic rights to this year’s upcoming Wimbledon Championship tennis grand slam, while pay-television broadcaster Nova Sports has renewed its deal in Greece.

As part of its new agreement in the Republic of Ireland, Premier Sports will air all matches throughout the two-week event, which will run from July 3 to 16.

The broadcaster will dedicate both its linear channels to Wimbledon coverage (Premier Sports 1 and Premier Sports 2) as well as providing three red-button continuous coverage court feeds for the duration of the event.

Premier Sports founder Michael O’Rourke said: “Wimbledon is one of the most iconic sports events in the calendar and we’re delighted to be in a position to bring comprehensive live coverage to our audiences.

“With up to five separate live match feeds available daily we’ll provide real choice for tennis fans during this fantastic fortnight.”

Paul Davies, head of broadcast, production, and media rights at the All England Club, which sells Wilmbledon's media rights, added: "We are delighted to enter into this agreement with Premier Sports in Ireland.

“Its extensive coverage plans, including red button coverage, ensures fans of Wimbledon in Ireland will be well served."

Meanwhile, Nova has extended its rights deal for the prestigious grand slam event for another two years.

The operator will broadcast Wimbledon exclusively on Novasports, through the EON+ service. Nova will air the event through its three Novasports channels.

The tournament, held in London, UK, will feature Greek players Stefanos Tsitsipas and Maria Sakkari.

Last week, Shinai Sports, the Chinese streaming platform, agreed a two-year extension to its Wimbledon rights deal, while Bild, the Axel Springer-owned German media outlet, will be providing free-to-air coverage in its home market after securing a sublicensing agreement with pay-TV operator Sky Deutschland.

Domestically, Wimbledon will be covered by the BBC, the UK's public-service broadcaster, until at least 2027.

Image: Justin Setterfield/Getty Images