Cricket Australia and the International Cricket Council, the game’s global governing body, have partnered to broadcast the upcoming 2021-22 home Australian season on the over-the-top ICC.TV platform across multiple emerging markets for the sport.

All Australia’s international fixtures over the next few months, for both the men’s and women’s sides (except for ICC tournaments), will be covered by ICC.TV across multiple markets and regions where CA has not already struck mainstream broadcast partnerships for the season.

These include Hong Kong, Singapore, Malaysia, Japan and China in Asia and both Germany and the Netherlands in mainland Europe.

The action starts tomorrow (21 September), with Australia taking on India in a women’s One-Day International series, before continuing with the men’s 'Ashes' (against England) in December and January, as well as other tours by New Zealand and Sri Lanka.

ICC.TV is the governing body’s own in-house streaming service, launched in partnership with Endeavor Streaming through a deal struck in February this year.

The women’s India series and their own Ashes encounter with England will both be free for all viewers to stream live, while the men’s games will all be available on a pay-per-view basis only. 

Finn Bradshaw, the ICC’s head of digital, has said: “Through this unique partnership with Cricket Australia we will bring competitive and quality cricket to the cricket starved markets of Southeast Asia and Europe, as well as other regions that do not currently have a broadcast partner.”

Nikki Linney, head of media rights at Cricket Australia, added: “We’re incredibly excited to work with the ICC to continue to grow cricket, and bring our distinctive Aussie flavour of cricket to more fans around the world … We know that in countries like Germany, Hong Kong, and Japan there is already a significant cricket fanbase and we are hoping to see this in neighbouring countries too.” will also provide coverage of all second-tier national team events and qualifying tournaments worldwide (except in the Indian subcontinent and southeast Asia) for the next two years. 

These events include qualifying campaigns for the men’s T20 World Cup 2022, the men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 and the women’s T20 World Cup 2023.

The qualifying tournaments will see countries such as Bhutan, Botswana, Cameroon, France, Malawi, Myanmar, the Philippines and Turkey making their debuts in ICC events, while Finland will stage an ICC event for the first time. 

In the subcontinent and parts of southeast Asia, these events will be covered by FanCode, the digital sports platform, the betting arm of the international sports and entertainment giant and a partner of the ICC from early this year.