Globo, the heavyweight Brazilian broadcaster, has unveiled a tie-up to cover the upcoming 2023 FIFA Club World Cup (CWC) soccer competition after Brazilian side Fluminense secured their entry to the annual event.

Fluminense secured qualification for the seven-team 2023 CWC – which is taking place in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, between December 12 and 22 – by winning the pan-South American Copa Libertadores over the weekend, defeating Argentina’s Boca Juniors 2-1.

This represents a rights extension in terms of CWC coverage for Globo, which also covered the prior edition of the knockout tournament in which the winners of the various continental club soccer competitions face off. In 2022, meanwhile, the rights were held by Bandeirantes.

Fluminense’s opening CWC match will take place on December 18, against the winner of a qualifying match a few days prior.

Action from the CWC will also be shown live in Brazil by CazeTV, a streaming channel that operates across the YouTube and Twitch sites.

For the previous CWC, Globo covered three matches – both games played by the Brazilian side involved (Flamengo), as well as the final. Coverage was shown across free-to-air, pay-TV, and streaming devices run by Globo.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

In June this year, FIFA announced that the first edition of its expanded, 32-team CWC will take place in the US in 2025.

The expanded 2025 CWC will feature 12 European club sides, as well as six from South America, four from Central and North America and the Caribbean (CONCACAF), four from Africa, four from Asia, one from Oceania, and one from the US as the host country. The tournament is expected to take place in June and July.

The decision was confirmed following a meeting of the FIFA Council and was made in order to “maximize synergies” with the 2026 men’s FIFA World Cup national teams competition, which is taking place across the US, Mexico, and Canada.