ESPN, the major international sports broadcaster, has acquired exclusive rights in the Netherlands to the upcoming edition of the Africa Cup of Nations, the national teams soccer competition.

The broadcaster will show all 52 matches from the tournament, with live coverage beginning with the opening game on Sunday when hosts Cameroon take on Burkina Faso.

The competition concludes with the final on February 6. Both the opening game and the final will be played in the Olembe Stadium in the Cameroonian capital Yaoundé.

The rights deal was brokered on behalf of the Confederation of African Football (CAF) by Agon, the France-based sports agency.

AFCON was delayed from last year due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

The tournament will feature several players from the Dutch top-flight Eredivisie including Ajax goalkeeper Andre Onana for Cameroon, as well as Moroccan internationals Zakaria Aboukhlal of AZ Alkmaar and Souffian El Karouani of NEC Nijmegen.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

Agon has concluded several rights deals for AFCON in recent weeks including Sky and the BBC in the UK, Bandeirantes in Brazil, Viaplay (Nordics, Baltics, and Poland), Sportdigital Fussball and OneFootball (Germany, Austria, and Switzerland), Discovery (Italy), and Sportklub (Balkans).