DAZN, the international sports subscription streaming service, has announced a rights deal for the Women’s National Football Conference (WNFC), the premier female American football competition.

The platform, through a tie-up with the WNFC, has acquired non-exclusive league broadcast rights in all global markets, for the upcoming 2023 campaign.

The service’s coverage of the WNFC begins tomorrow (April 1), with the Texas Elite Spartans – defending champions – taking on the Mississippi Panthers in the season’s curtain-raiser.

In addition to regular season coverage, DAZN will air the playoffs, as well as the 2023 championship game.

Andrea Ekblad, vice president of women’s sports for DAZN, said: “DAZN is already the home of women’s soccer globally, and this partnership further broadens our overall women’s sports strategy with women’s American football offering value and quality to our fans.”

Elizabeth Jenkins, the WNFC’s president, added: “Creating WNFC fandom globally is a key priority for us this season. We are proud to partner with DAZN to help us introduce WNFC football to the world.”

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData

Founded in 2019, the WNFC now contains 18 teams, with key sponsors including Adidas and Dick’s Sporting Goods.

DAZN holds exclusive global rights to European soccer’s UEFA Women’s Champions League in a four-year deal that started with the 2021-22 season. The rights cover all countries and territories except for the Middle East and North Africa region and China.

The platform covers, in terms of additional women’s soccer, Spain’s LaLiga Feminina, the French D1 Arkema, and the German Women’s Bundesliga.

Image: Alex Grimm/Getty Images