Amazon Prime Video, video streaming service of the online retail giant, and Irish pay-television broadcaster Virgin Media have acquired rights in Ireland to all matches involving the national team during the upcoming Autumn Nations Series rugby union national teams tournament.

The deals were struck with Six Nations Rugby, which organizes the Autumn Nations Series alongside the respective national rugby unions and also arranges the centralized distribution of broadcast rights to all matches of its six constituent countries.

Under the deals, Virgin Media and Amazon Prime will simulcast all of Ireland’s matches against South Africa (November 5), Fiji (November 12), and Australia (November 19), which are all being held at Aviva Stadium in Dublin.

Virgin Media will show all matches on its Virgin Media Two, as well as the Ireland A versus All Blacks XV on November 4.

Ben Morel, Six Nations chief executive, said: “The extensive coverage of these games is designed to give fans the best possible access to these unmissable games.

“Through our broadcast partnerships with Prime Video and Virgin Media Television, we are incredibly excited to offer Irish rugby fans the opportunity to watch Ireland in action against some of the most exciting teams in world rugby.”

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

The Autumn Nations Series was first played in 2021 as an evolution of the traditional Autumn International fixtures and the Autumn Nations Cup in 2020.

it involves the national teams of England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland, France, and Italy hosting teams from the Southern Hemisphere, including the likes of New Zealand, Australia, and South Africa.

This year, those nine teams are participating along with Argentina, Japan, Samoa, and Fiji.

The latest deal means Amazon now holds rights to all matches for this year’s Autumn Nations Series across the UK and Ireland after holding rights to all matches besides Ireland’s last year.

Ireland’s matches last year against Japan, New Zealand, and Argentina were shown in Ireland by public service broadcaster RTE and commercial broadcaster Channel 4 in the UK.

The Autumn Nations Series started yesterday (October 30) and runs until November 26.