Four nations – Australia, Jordan, Saudi Arabia, and Uzbekistan – have expressed their interest in hosting the AFC Women’s Asian Cup top-tier regional soccer tournament, the Asian Football Confederation has announced today (August 1). 

Member nations were given until July 31 to submit expressions of interest in hosting, and the AFC has said it will “now work with all bidding member associations on the delivery of the necessary bidding documentation in accordance with the bidding process…”

A decision will, the governing body has said, “be finalized and communicated in 2023.”

Australia last hosted the tournament in 2006, while Jordan did so in 2018.

Neither Uzbekistan nor Saudi Arabia has staged the event before. Hosts usually come from east Asia – central Asia has never put on the event before, while west Asia has done so only once. 

The last edition took place earlier this year in India and featured 12 teams. 

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

The AFC has said that the 2026 edition “is expected to build on the solid foundations of the tournament’s celebrated legacy.”

Last month, four countries – Australia, South Korea, Indonesia, and Qatar – all submitted formal expressions of interest in hosting the AFC Asian Cup next year.