Bangladesh, India, England, and Sri Lanka will stage major women’s white-ball tournaments between 2024 and 2027 after being awarded hosting rights by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

The governing body confirmed the next cycle of women’s white-ball tournament yesterday (July 26) at its annual conference, which took place in Birmingham, UK, in the lead-up to cricket’s return to the Commonwealth Games.

Bangladesh will host a major women’s tournament for the first when they stage the T20 World Cup in 2024, while India will stage the Women’s World Cup in 2025 a year later.

England, meanwhile, will host the 2026 T20 World Cup for the first time since the inaugural event in 2009, with Sri Lanka staging the first Women’s T20 Champions Trophy in 2027, subject to the country qualifying for the new six-team tournament.

The 2023 edition of the Women’s T20 World Cup is being hosted by South Africa in February next year. The last edition in 2020 saw host nation Australia crowned champions.

The bidding process for the events was overseen by a committee chaired by New Zealand Cricket chair Martin Snedden and included Clare Connor, the England and Wales Cricket Board acting chief executive, Board of Control of Cricket in India president Sourav Ganguly, and Cricket West Indies president Ricky Skerritt.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

Greg Barclay, ICC chair, said: “Accelerating the growth of the women’s game is one of the ICC’s strategic priorities, and taking these events to some of our sport’s biggest markets gives us a fantastic opportunity to do that and deepen its connection with cricket’s one-billion-plus fans.”

The competitions are part of the ICC’s Future Tour Program, which sets the agenda for men’s and women’s cricket events and tours. The program for the 2023-27 cycle is now finalized, with the ICC to release the schedule in the coming days.

The ICC has already announced the host nations for all major men’s limited-overs events between 2024 and 2031 last year, with the USA and the West Indies awarded co-hosting rights to the T20 World Cup in 2024.

Pakistan will host the 2025 edition of the Champions Trophy, while India and Sri Lanka will jointly stage the T20 World Cup in 2026.

Namibia will host the World Cup for the first time alongside Zimbabwe and South Africa in 2027, while Australia and New Zealand are set to co-host the men’s T20 World Cup in 2028.

England, Ireland, Scotland, and Wales will then jointly host the 2030 T20 World Cup. India and Bangladesh will then stage the 2031 World Cup the next year.

During yesterday’s annual conference, the ICC also confirmed Lord’s cricket ground in London as the venue for the next two World Test Championship (WTC) finals in 2023 and 2025.

The inaugural WTC final, originally scheduled for Lords, was held in Southampton in 2021 due to Covid-19 restrictions in place.  

Cambodia, Cote D’Ivoire, and Uzbekistan were granted associate membership status at the AGM, bringing the total ICC members to 108. Cricket Russia’s membership, meanwhile, was terminated due to non-compliance issues dating back to 2019.

The ICC board also approved a change in the process to elect the next chair of the board. The election, which is due to take place in November, will now be decided by a simple majority instead of a two-thirds majority – a system that led to a protracted process when Greg Barclay was elected in 2020.

The next chairperson’s tenure will run for two years from December 1, 2022, to November 30, 2024.