The International Biathlon Union (IBU) governing body has unanimously re-elected its president Olle Dahlin for a second term.

Dahlin, who was first elected in September 2018, replacing long-serving Anders Besseberg, received the total support of the 15th IBU ordinary congress on Saturday (September 17), at which a new IBU executive board and vice president were also elected.

Dahlin will serve as president for the 2022 to 2026 cycle, taking his tenure up to eight years by the end of the term.

The re-elected president said: “I am honored to have been re-elected to serve the biathlon family. I am committed to building on the excellent work we have achieved together over the last four years and ensuring that all stakeholders contribute to our exciting future. 

“We have a clear framework for the years ahead and clear objectives to accomplish together.”

The congress also selected Belgrade, Serbia, as the host of the next ordinary IBU congress, to take place in the latter months of 2024.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

Jiri Hamza of the Czech Republic was elected as the vice president – again, unopposed – while Christian Scherer is now the body’s treasurer.

The other elected members of the executive board for the cycle through to 2026 are Franz Steinle (Germany), Tim Farcnik (Slovenia), Tore Boygard (Norway), Fabien Saguez (France), Nathalie Santer (Italy), and Ekaterina Dafovska of Bulgaria.

In late August, the IBU appointed Max Cobb as its new secretary general.