The EPCR governing body and organizer of the European Rugby Champions Cup and the EPCR Challenge Cup major club rugby union tournaments, has announced that Wales and Spain will stage the 2025 and 2026 Finals Weekends.

The decision follows a tender process undertaken with the Sports Consultancy that generated bids from 23 stadia across 12 countries.

The board of the EPCR awarded the 2025 Champions Cup and EPCR Challenge Cup finals to Cardiff's 74,000-capacity Principality Stadium, and the 2026 matches will return to the 53,331-capacity San Mamés Stadium in Bilbao.

Cardiff has staged the Heineken Cup and Champions Cup deciders on seven previous occasions, with the last taking place in 2014.

Bilbao, meanwhile, staged the first EPCR finals weekend outside of rugby’s traditional six nations in 2018.

Dominic McKay, chairman of EPCR, said: “Our selection of host cities such as this reflects our intention to continually deliver outstanding experiences for fans, clubs, and stakeholders for our marquee weekend. 

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

“We were delighted to receive so many bids and expressions of interest from across the world. The final decisions were certainly challenging given the high standard of all bidders.”

Since the first in 1996, EPCR finals have been staged at 23 different venues in six different countries. The EPCR has stated that dates for the 2025 and 2026 Finals Weekends, as well as ticketing, will be announced in the future.

Last month, the EPCR announced a collaboration with the World Rugby governing body to expand coverage of the European Rugby Champions Cup and the EPCR Challenge Cup.

RugbyPass TV, World Rugby’s streaming platform, will broadcast EPCR’s tournaments on a combination of a free-to-air and pay-per-view basis in Japan, the Middle East, and North Africa.