FIBA, the international basketball federation, has named Brazil as the host nation of the 2022 AmeriCup, the top national teams competition in the Americas.

The 19th edition of the tournament will be played from 2 to 11 September.

The competition returns to Brazil for the first time since 1984, when it was held in Sao Paulo and was won by the hosts.

As well as Brazil, next year’s AmeriCup will feature 11 countries: Argentina, Canada, Colombia, Mexico, Panama, Puerto Rico, Dominican Republic, Uruguay, Venezuela, and Virgin Islands United States.

The AmeriCup was moved from this year due to the delayed Tokyo Olympic Games being held this summer because of the coronavirus pandemic.

The 2017 edition was held in three separate countries for the first time as Argentina, Colombia and Uruguay co-hosted the event.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

Carlos Alves, the executive director of FIBA in the Americas, said: “It’s an honour and a privilege to return to the country of Brazil to play the FIBA AmeriCup 2022.

“FIBA and the CBB (Brazilian Basketball Confederation) have been working together for a long time and now have a very structured and inspiring plan to bring this event to Brazil next September.”