Belgium, the Netherlands, and Germany have officially confirmed their bid to co-host the 2027 FIFA Women’s World Cup (WWC), becoming the first applicants to formally do so.

The three nations first expressed their ambition to jointly host the flagship national teams tournament in 2020 and used their combined BNG2027 Twitter account to announce their official bid immediately after world governing body FIFA opened the bidding process for the competition on Friday (March 24).

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.


The national governing bodies of Belgium (RBFA), the Netherlands (KNVB), and Germany (DFB) said their bid would enter with the support of their respective governments and would use the campaign slogan “Breaking New Ground”, with the first letters representing the three nations.

DFB general secretary Heike Ullrich said: “Women’s football is currently developing well worldwide. We want to pick up on this momentum with our joint application and set another exclamation mark. That is a responsibility that we are happy to face up to with conviction.

“We are sure to offer perfect conditions for the tournament. Our aim is to present the players with the best sporting conditions, the fans with a unique atmosphere, and all associations with sustainable approaches.”

Germany hosted the Women’s World Cup in 2011, while the Netherlands staged the UEFA Euro 2017. Belgium has never hosted a major women’s tournament and if the bid is successful, it will be the first time that a Women’s World Cup will be staged across three countries.

The announcement comes as Australia and New Zealand make their final preparations to co-host this year’s expanded 32-team Women’s World Cup from July 20 to August 20. Germany and the Netherlands will participate in the competition, while Belgium failed to qualify after losing to Portugal in a European playoff.

KNVB general secretary Gijs de Jong said: “The popularity of women’s football boomed in the Netherlands after the 2017 European Championship.

“Women’s football is also making enormous progress worldwide. We want to take advantage of this momentum with our joint bid and give women’s football a new impetus. A catalyst for the position of all women in football.”

Several other nations have previously expressed an interest in hosting the 2027 World Cup.

In September 2022, Tebogo Motlanthe, chief executive of the South African Football Association, announced the country’s intention to bid, adding: “We as [an] administration will fully inform FIFA and then start the process of hosting the World Cup.”

The three European nations could also face competition from the US, which is currently weighing up a bid for either the 2027 or the 2031 Women’s World Cup.

Brazil’s minister of sports Ana Moser announced earlier this month the country will launch a bid for the 2027 tournament.

FIFA will award the hosting rights for the 2027 tournament at its annual congress in 2024.