Belgium, the Netherlands, and Germany have officially launched their bid to co-host the 2027 FIFA Women’s World Cup (WWC).

The three nations first expressed their intention to jointly host the flagship national teams tournament in 2020 and announced their bid, officially known as BNG2027, immediately after world governing body FIFA opened the bidding process for the competition on March 24.

Matches will be played within a compact vicinity centered around the borders of all three countries to minimize travel and meet FIFA’s objectives around sustainability.

The bid’s specific commercial and logistical plans will be laid out in BNG2027’s bid book due to be submitted to FIFA by December 8.

In a joint statement, the presidents of the Royal Belgian Football Federation Pascale Van Damme, Royal Netherlands Football Association Just Spree, and German Football Association Bernd Neuendorft said their combined bid will “break new ground by ensuring it delivers a competition on a level not seen before in the history of the women’s game.”

They added: “Following months of preparations, we look forward to presenting our bid to host the FIFA 2027 Women’s World Cup, which we are confident will deliver a tournament of unparalleled quality for both participating teams and fans from across the world seeking to taste the unique experience and thrill of elite international football.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

“Women’s football finds itself at a historical moment in its development building on the growth witnessed in recent years.

“We are convinced that a successful BNG2027 bid can act as a powerful catalyst to ensure the women’s game can tap into the huge opportunities and potential that exist to fulfill its development at every level across every country, leading to enhanced levels of participation and deepening engagement and interest from fans and stakeholders.”

The joint European bid for the 2027 edition is one of four in contention to win hosting rights, alongside solo bids from South Africa and Brazil, and a joint submission from the US and Mexico.

The announcement comes two months after Australia and New Zealand hosted the 2023 edition of the WWC featuring 32 teams. Spain were crowned champions for the first time, after beating England in the final.

FIFA will award the hosting rights for the 2027 tournament at its annual congress on May 24 next year in Bangkok, Thailand.

Germany hosted the Women’s World Cup in 2011, while the Netherlands staged the UEFA Euro 2017 tournament. Belgium has never hosted a major women’s tournament and if the bid is successful, it will be the first time that a Women’s World Cup will be staged across three countries.