Alexander Alayev, the secretary general of the Russian Football Union (RFS), the national soccer federation, has been elected as the latest president of the top-flight domestic league.

Alayev will serve a five-year term as head of the Russian Premier League (RPL) after being voted in unanimously yesterday (August 16) at a general meeting of RPL clubs as the sole candidate for the position.

He becomes the RPL’s third different president in the past 18 months and eighth overall.

The 42-year-old had been serving as the league’s acting president since 27 June following Ashot Khachaturyants’ decision to step down after less than a year in the role.

Khachaturyants was only installed last November having been elected by RPL clubs.

Like Alayev, Khachaturyants was the sole candidate during that election having also served as acting president following the resignation of former president Sergei Pryadkin last October.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

Pryadkin had been at the helm for 14 years and was re-elected as president for a five-year term in March 2020.

Alayev also previously served as the RFS acting president between December 2017 and December 2018. He assumed the role of secretary general at the national body in 2019 and has held a seat in the RFS executive committee since 2021.