A record number of viewers across Europe will be able to enjoy the UCI Road World Championships in Bergen in 2017, thanks to the new partnership in place between the EBU and the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI).

Cycling has seen a huge growth in popularity in the last decade and 50 European countries will be broadcasting the Road World Championships when they commence next weekend.

In line with its commitment to keeping major sporting events free-to-air wherever possible, the EBU has agreed deals with public service broadcasters in 23 countries to ensure the widest possible audience for the competition. This includes the main markets in the UK (BBC), Spain (RTVE/Teledeporte), Italy (RAI), France (France TV) and, for the first time in a number of years, ZDF in Germany1.

Eurosport will be broadcasting the Championships in the other European territories as well as offering enhanced coverage in most of the free-to-air markets2.

The 2017 distribution represents an increase of nearly 40% year-on-year in the number of territories covered by broadcast agreements. Furthermore, in countries such as Denmark, Sweden, Finland and Poland, public service broadcasters will replace former Pay TV rights holders, enabling wider access for cycling fans.

Julien Ternisien, EBU Head of Sports Rights – Summer Sports, said: “Thanks to our unique relationship with Europe’s public service broadcasters and our creative approach to combining free-to-air and paid exploitation of rights throughout Europe, we have been able to ensure the most extensive and in depth coverage ever for this year’s Championships.”

This achievement reinforces the unrivalled position of the EBU in the market for the greatest cycling races.

In April 2016, the EBU was awarded the European media rights to the UCI World Championships and IMG, operating under EBU sub-licence, handles the rights outside Europe. Eurovision Production Coordination, a subsidiary of the EBU, will act as Host Broadcaster for the next UCI Road and Track World Championships.

List of EBU Member territories covered by rights agreements for the 2017 UCI Road World Championships :

Albania : RTS

Austria: ORF

Belgium: RTBF and VRT

Czech Republic: Czech TV

Denmark: TV2

Finland: YLE

France and Monaco: France TV

Germany: ZDF

Italy, San Marino and Vatican: RAI

Luxemburg: RTL

Netherlands: NOS

Norway: TV2

Poland: TVP

Slovakia: RTV Slovakia

Slovenia: RTV SLO

Spain and Andorra: TVE / Teledeporte

Sweden: SVT

Switzerland: SRG SSR

United Kingdom: BBC

Eurosport will cover all Europe with the exceptions of Denmark, Finland, Sweden, Norway and Iceland.