Uppsala BGK and MGC Göttingen win the EMF European Cup Minigolf Championships for National Club Champion Teams in Vizela, Portugal.

Nineteen teams from eleven countries competed in the EMF European Cup minigolf tournament for national club champions held at the 18-hole Concrete Minigolf course in Caldas de Vizela, Portugal. The three-day competition saw Uppsala BGK from Sweden crowned as the EMF European Cup men’s champions, with MGC Göttingen from Germany victorious in the EMF European Cup women’s championship.

The three-day, 144-hole, eight-round tournament was held between the 4th and 6th of October. 102 players competed in the event with ten teams in the men’s event and nine in the women’s competition.

The 2012 EMF European Cup saw new Minigolf records set in the competition and an all-time new best score of 19(-17) on the Concrete Minigolf playing surface. This feat was accomplished by Karel Molnar of SK Tempo Praha in the Czech Republic who managed to score 17 holes-in-one, with only one score of two during the round. The previous best score was 20(-16) by Anders Olsson of Sweden in 2006. Molnar also set new Minigolf world records on the Concrete playing surface for the best one-round total, and in addition recorded new best rounds for three, four, six and eight-round totals.

Carl-Johan Ryner of Uppsala BGK in Sweden recorded new world record results for the best two and five-round totals. Nicole Piechotta of MGC Göttingen in Germany scored a new women’s world record for the best eight-round total on Concrete Minigolf. The new men’s team record was set by the BGS Hardenberg-Pötter team consisting of Timo Greiffendorf, Mike Mann, Michael Koziol, Walter Erlbruch, Alexander Geist and Harald Erlbruch. The German club team made a one-round score of 144.

Final Team Rankings – Men
1. Uppsala BGK (Sweden)
2. BGS Hardenberg-Pötter (Germany)
3. SK Tempo Praha (Czech Republic)
4. GSP Vergiate (Italy)
5. MC Olten (Switzerland)
6. Kungälv BGK (Sweden)
7. Vizelgolfe (Portugal)
8. WAT 21 (Austria)
9. MGC Oirschot (Netherlands)
10. Sibelius Park MGC (Finland)

Final Team Rankings – Women
1. MGC Göttingen (Germany)
2. MGC Mainz (Germany)
3. MC Effretikon (Switzerland)
4. 1. DGC Bystrice pod Hostynem (Czech Republic)
5. GSP Cusano Milanino (Italy)
6. MGC Gänserndorf (Austria)
7. MGC Leeuwarden (Netherlands)
8. CM Costa Nova (Portugal)
9. Aalborg Minigolf Klub (Denmark)

The World Minigolf Sport Federation (WMF) is the umbrella organisation of Minigolf sports association’s worldwide and continental associations in Asia, Europe and America. The WMF is a member of SportAccord, the General Association of International Sports Federations. The WMF organises biannual world championships for youth and elite players, as well as biannual Continental Championships in Europe, Asia and the USA. There are four minigolf systems recognised by the WMF: Concrete, Miniaturegolf, Feltgolf and Minigolf Open Standard (MOS). For more information please visit http://www.minigolfsport.com

• World Minigolf Sport Federation http://www.minigolfsport.com
• European Minigolf Sport Federation http://www.minigolf-europe.org
• Official website of the 2012 EMF European Cup http://www.vizelgolfe.com/euro/
• Results of the 2012 EMF European Cup http://www.mrs.fi/etc12/tulokset/
• 2012 EMF European Cup Men’s Team Results http://www.mrs.fi/etc12/tulokset/kokonaiset.php?page=joukkue&luokka=2
• 2012 EMF European Cup Women’s Team Results http://www.mrs.fi/etc12/tulokset/kokonaiset.php?page=joukkue&luokka=1
• Minigolfnews.com http://minigolfnews.com/


For further information please contact:
• Dr Gerhard Zimmermann, WMF President, Email: president@minigolfsport.com
• Evgeny Kaplun, WMF Media Manager, Email: mediamanager@minigolfsport.com
• Richard Gottfried, WMF Media Committee Member, Email: marketing@minigolf.org.uk
• Web: http://www.minigolfsport.com
• Email: office@minigolfsport.com