The Irish, Scottish and Welsh Rugby Unions are delighted to confirm tonight that the Celtic League has now been given the go ahead by each Union.

Tonight’s ratification by the WRU now paves the way to conclude the commercial arrangements, which will generate significant values for the three Unions and participating teams.

The Celtic League will run for an initial period of three years and will begin in late August 2001. At the outset it will involve four teams from Ireland, two from Scotland and nine from Wales. A fixture list will be published shortly.

The three Unions believe that the Celtic League will have long-lasting benefits for rugby in Ireland, Scotland and Wales, as it will provide a high-intensity stepping stone between domestic competition and the European Cup and international rugby.

For further information, please contact:

Graham Law
Tel: +44 (0)131 346 5164
Mobile: +44 (0)7713 783144