26 August 2014: Players from 16 nations gathered to compete at the EMF European Championships in Neutraubling, Germany with Minigolf Sport titles won in six categories.

From the 20 to 23 August, 79 men and 35 women making up nine men’s teams and eight women’s teams played on two 18-hole courses (Concrete and Miniaturegolf) at the host minigolf club venue at BGC Neutraubling.

The team titles were contested on the first two days, with individual strokeplay and matchplay championships decided on days three and four.

New women’s European Champions were crowned in the team event, with Switzerland winning the title, Germany runners-up and Austria third.

Germany was successful in the defence of the title won in Portugal in 2012, with Sweden in second place and the Czech Republic in third position.

Champions at the 2014 EMF European Championships held in Neutraubling, Germany:

=  EMF Men’s European Team Champions – Germany 

=  EMF Women’s European Team Champions – Switzerland

=  EMF Men’s European Strokeplay Champion – Karel Molnar (CZE)

=  EMF Women’s European Strokeplay Champion – Bianca Zodrow (GER)

=  EMF Men’s European Matchplay Champion – Reto Sommer (SUI)

=  EMF Women’s European Matchplay Champion – Bianca Zodrow (GER)

Pasi Aho from BGC Neutraubling said “All of us at BGC Neutraubling were very excited to organise such a great Minigolf event at our course and pleased that all of the players and coaches enjoyed competing. We are very proud that the EMF decided to assign our club the main event in the 2014 minigolf season and that the event was a great success."

The EMF European Championships were jointly organised by the DMV (German Minigolfsport Federation) and BGC Neutraubling. The event was supported by Sparkasse Regensburg, Reisebüro Stadler, Messko, Nestlé Schöller and the WMF Gold Sponsors.

Players from 16 countries competed this year and included Austria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Russia, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland, and The Netherlands. India was also represented as their players attended as special guests in the EMF European Championships and were competing in the event thanks to the efforts of the local organisers, the DMV and the European Minigolf Federation in order to aid development of Minigolf Sport in India.


The European Minigolf Sport Federation (EMF) is the umbrella organisation of Minigolf sports association's across Europe and has 32 member nations. The EMF is part of the World Minigolf Sport Federation.

The World Minigolf Sport Federation (WMF) is the umbrella organisation of Minigolf sports association's worldwide and continental associations in Asia, Europe and America. The WMF currently has 46 member nations whose players and clubs play on four Minigolf systems recognised by the WMF – Concrete, Miniaturegolf, Feltgolf and Minigolf Open Standard (MOS). The WMF is a member of SportAccord.

For further information about the WMF and international Minigolf competitions please visit http://www.minigolfsport.com and the EMF website at http://www.minigolf-europe.org

Further information about the 2014 EMF European Championships, including full results, can be found on the tournament website at http://em2014.minigolf-neutraubling.de/ 

The EMF European Championships Facebook page is https://www.facebook.com/pages/Minigolf-European-Championships-2014-Neutraubling/1535656793324684

Earlier this month the best senior players competed in the EMF Senior European Championships at the MGC Murnau am Staffelsee minigolf course in Murnau, Germany. A total of 105 players from twelve countries competed in the tournament. Germany won both the men's and women's team categories. Alice Kobish (GER) and Roman Kobisch (GER) were successful in the women's and men's strokeplay event. Dagmar Hirschmannova (CZE) and Michael Neuland (GER) were victorious in the matchplay competition.

The top junior Minigolfers were also in action this month as the WMF Minigolf Youth World Championships were held in Lahti, Finland with world titles decided in six categories. Germany was victorious in both the boy’s and girl’s team tournaments, successfully defending the titles they won in Bad Münder, Germany. Seventy-seven players from twelve countries competed in the event and in the individual results Sebastian Piekorz (GER) won the male youth strokeplay title, Jasmin Hansson (SWE) won the female youth strokeplay title, Igor Pantelimonov became the first Minigolf champion from Russia when he won the male youth matchplay title and Annika Dellmann (GER) won the female youth matchplay title.

The next international Minigolf Sport competition is the AMF Asian Open Championships taking place on Kish Island, Iran in November. 

For further information please contact:

Evgeny Kaplun, WMF Media Manager

Email: mediamanager@minigolfsport.com