The next FIFA Confederations Cup will be played in Germany from 15 to 29 June 2005 in full accordance with the coordinated international match calendar approved by the FIFA Congress. The proposed dates for the competition gained the backing of the Organising Committee for the FIFA
Confederations Cup when it convened in Zurich today under the chairmanship of Chuck Blazer (USA).

The tournament will be held in five of the following six venues: Hanover, Leipzig, Cologne, Nuremberg, Frankfurt and Kaiserslautern.

The eight-team field for next year’s seventh FIFA Confederations Cup will not be finalised until August 2004, but will definitely include Germany (host nation), Brazil (reigning world champions), Tunisia (African Cup of
Nations 2004 champions) and Mexico (CONCACAF Gold Cup 2003 champions), along with the winners of this year’s Asian Cup, Copa America, OFC Nations Cup and Euro 2004.

Should Brazil secure the 2004 Copa America crown, the tournament’s runners-up will qualify for the FIFA Confederations Cup Germany 2005. Similarly, if Germany triumph at EURO 2004, Europe’s second best team will
take their place at next year’s competition.

All of the above decisions await ratification from the FIFA Executive Committee.

‘The FIFA Confederations Cup is a wonderful competition because it is a symbol of solidarity between the confederations. With the exception of the FIFA World Cup(tm), it is the only official international competition in
which teams from all the continents can test themselves against one another,’ underlined FIFA President Joseph S. Blatter.

For further information please contact:
FIFA Media Department
Since 1 January 2004, tel.: +41-43/222 7272 00 – Fax: +41-43/222 7373 02 –