The European Curling Federation had its annual assembly in Oberstdorf and voted for a new president. WCF President Roy Sinclair retired after eight years as ECF-president. New president became another Scotsman, Malcolm Richardson. For the first time a Vice President in the ECF was elected and that was Dieter Kolb of Germany.

Following persons were elected to the ECF Executive Board:

Karel Kubeska, Czech Republic

Kate Caithness, Scotland

Leif Öhman, Sweden

Ann Stone, Wales

Olli Rissanen, Finland

Erika Müller, Switzerland

Konstantin Zadvornov, Russia

Next year the European Championships will take place in Vierumäki, Finland. In 2002 Grindelwald in Switzerland will host the event. For 2003 there are two candidates, Courmayeur in Italy and Deeside in Wales. The decision for 2003 will be made at the Semi annual meeting of the ECF in Lausanne in april 2001.