The British Olympic Association is pleased to announce that the following men’s hockey players have been selected to represent Great Britain as members of Team GB at the forthcoming Olympic Games in Sydney.

Name Club Date of Birth

Tom Bertram Bournville Birmingham University 24/5/77
Guy Fordham Guildford / Army 19/7/75
Brett Garrard Surbiton 21/8/76
Calum Giles Surbiton 27/10/72
David Hacker
Canterbury 25/3/64
Daniel Hall Guildford 30/11/74
Julian Halls Cannock 17/4/67
Michael Johnson Cannock 27/8/79
David Luckes (GK) Surbiton 24/4/69
Simon Mason (GK) Reading 30/3/73
Craig Parnham Cannock 13/7/73
Mark Pearn Reading 21/3/77
Ben Sharpe Cannock 31/7/73
James Wallis Teddington 13/6/74
William Waugh Southgate 20/1/73
Jon Wyatt Reading 12/2/73

Simon Clegg, Team GB’s Chef de Mission for the Sydney Olympic Games, said: ‘I am delighted to welcome these hockey players into Team GB. Playing within the highly charged atmosphere of Homebush Park, at the heart of the Games, will no doubt inspire our players in what promises to be a closely contested competition. The BOA is particularly pleased that its Projects Officer, David Luckes, is a member of Team GB, which will add to our in house experience.’

Great Britain Head Coach Barry Dancer said: ‘I am confident that we have been able to select the best possible team and are now in a position to narrow our focus of team development. The mental strength and team spirit that have been forged in the furnace of recent tournaments will be the cornerstone of our efforts to achieve success in Sydney’.

For more information contact Mark Howell (ext. 213) , Philip Pope (ext. 233) or Becki Middleton (ext. 215) in the BOA Press Office on 020 8871 2677.

Source: British Olympic Association