The 2006/2007 Draw for the EHF Men’s Champions League Group Matches will take place at the home of the defending Champion (05/06 season), Ciudad Real/ESP, on Saturday 29th July 2006. Tor Lian, EHF President, will be in Ciudad Real to lead the draw, which will start at 11am (CET). It will take place in the County Hall of Ciudad Real.

Around 60 representatives from 25 clubs from across Europe will join the EHF team for the draw, which you can follow live online at: The 2005/2006 Top Scorer Kiril Lazarov of last season’s semi-finalists MKB Veszprem (HUN) will be in attendance to receive his prize for scoring a total of 85 goals in last season’s EHF Champions League.

Altogether 32 top teams will take part in the group matches. 25 teams qualify directly for the Group Matches, which will begin at the end of September and continue in 6 rounds of matches until mid November, seven teams will qualify from the qualification round which will take place on 2/3 September (1st leg) and 9/10 September (2nd leg).

The match pairings for the qualification were drawn today (25 July) at the EHF Headquarters and were published in EHF NEWS 101. They are listed for you once again below (pot 4). It can also be seen which pot the seeded teams will be in. In POT 1, there will only be national champions from 7 different countries, plus the defending champion. One point to note for the draw is the fact that no teams from the same country can be drawn in the same groups!

Pot 1

Pot 2

Pot 3

Pot 4

BM Ciudad Real /ESP

Portland San Antonio/ESP

Chekhovski Medvedi/RUS

RK “Bosna” Sarajevo/BIH

FC Barcelona-Cifec /ESP


RK Gold Club Kozina/SLO

Hammarby IF HB/SWE

Winner of: GRE Panellinios Athens –CYP Strovolos

RK Celje Pivovarna Lasko/SLO


SG Flensburg-Handewitt/GER

HC Portovik Yuzhny/UKR

Winner of: TUR Milli Piyango – SRB Crvena Zvezda


SC Pick Szeged/HUN

Kadetten Schaffhausen/SUI

Winner of: AUT A1 Bregenz – LTU Viking Malt Panevezys

MKB Veszprém KC/HUN

Chambery Savoie HB/FRA

HC Banik OKD Karvina/CZE

Winner of: NED KRAS/Volendam – BLR Brest Meshkov

Montpellier HB/FRA

GOG Svendborg TGI Gudme/DEN                   

MSK Povazska Bystrica/SVK

Winner of: ROM HCM Constanta – ITA

RK Zagreb/CRO

CBM Valladolid/ESP

Wisla Plock S.A./POL

Winner of: MKD Metalurg Skopje – POR ABC Braga

KIF Kolding Elite A/S/DEN

VfL Gummersbach/GER

Fram Reykjavik/ISL

Winner of: LUX HC Berchem – NOR Sandefjord

EHF NEWS service will report after the draw with a news mailing and as mentioned the
event will be streamed live.