World Rugby has announced the new dates for the next women’s Rugby World Cup, and changes to the schedule.

It has been confirmed that the 12-team tournament in New Zealand, which has been postponed from this year, will now take place on 8 October to 12 November, 2022.

The women's Rugby World Cup was originally scheduled for September and October 2021, but World Rugby announced a delay in March, citing logistical complications caused by the coronavirus pandemic.

The tournament window has been extended from 35 to 43 days, with a minimum of five days' rest between matches, bringing it in line with the men's World Cup.

In addition, all matches will now be played at weekends, with three on Saturdays and three on Sundays in the pool stage, and no overlaps.

Originally there were six games per matchday, with simultaneous kick-off times.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

Bill Beaumont, chairman of World Rugby, said: “While the postponement was disappointing for everyone, it has provided the unique opportunity to review every aspect of the event to ensure it is the best it can be for the players, fans around the world and the wonderful and enthusiastic New Zealanders.”

The New Zealand venues include Eden Park and Waitakere Stadium in Auckland and Northlands Events Centre in Whangarei.

Pool phase matches will take place on the weekends of 8 and 9 October, 15 and 16 October and 22 and 23 October, with the quarter-finals on 29 and 30 October and the semi-finals on 5 November.

Nine of the 12 qualifiers have already been confirmed, with three others to be decided.

The final will be played at Eden Park on 12 November.