Formula E, the international electric car racing series, is to visit Cape Town in South Africa, Vancouver in Canada and Seoul in South Korea for the first time in the 2021-22 season.

The Formula E World Championship calendar confirmed by the FIA World Motor Sport Council on Wednesday is the most expansive yet, with 16 races in 12 cities across four continents.

The season will kick off with a night race in Diriyah, Saudi Arabia in January next year, before heading to Mexico City in Mexico, Cape Town, China, Rome in Italy, Monaco, Berlin in Germany, Vancouver, New York in USA, and London in UK, before concluding with a double-header in Seoul in August 2022.

A host for round nine of the series is yet to be confirmed.

The Monaco race is set to switch from a biannual to an annual event, while Paris will return in 2023, after a two-year absence caused by the Covid-19 pandemic, and become a biannual event.

Alberto Longo, co-founder and chief championship officer at Formula E, said: “In Formula E’s short history, we have always looked to grow the championship and our reach. Next season is set to be another landmark for the series with a record number off races and incredible new cities backing Formula E and our electric movement.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

“To be returning racing to South Africa, along with the likes of Vancouver and Seoul, is a huge achievement for the series, on top of expanding Monaco to an annual event. As our last season with the Gen2 car, its promises to be one of the most exciting yet and let the foundations for the all-new Gen3 era in season nine.”

This year’s Formula E World Championship started in Diriyah in February, and concludes with a double-header in Berlin on 14 and 15 August.