The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) and Norwich Union today confirm that from the start of the 2001 season, The Norwich Union National Cricket League will be known as The Norwich Union League.

The re-naming simplifies the title of the league and clarifies its identity within cricket’s busy domestic calendar. The support of the league’s title sponsor, Norwich Union, remains the same, as does the format of the competition. Once again the league will consist of two divisions of nine first class teams playing in a three-up, three-down system of promotion and relegation.

Now in its third year, the 45 overs-a-side game is unique among domestic competitions in its innovative use of music and entertainment. It has become a firm fixture at many of the extremely popular floodlit matches, which this year number 24.

Norwich Union works in partnership with the ECB to support cricket at all levels. In particular, this includes the ECB’s Inter Cricket programme, which is helping today’s children become tomorrow’s cricketers. Inter Cricket is the all action game for kids aged 12-16 that bridges the gap between Kwik Cricket and the hard ball game. The game also features many of the innovative and exciting characteristics of the Norwich Union League itself, including coloured stumps and bright clothing.

For further information please contact:

Mark Hodgson
ECB Media Relations Officer
020 7432 1251

Richard Nowell
Karen Earl Ltd
020 7243 7106

Bill Reynolds
Norwich Union
01904 452 732